Another Year Over… and a New One About To Begin!

What an incredible year it’s been! I can’t believe it’s just about over already, and another year – all shiny, sparkly, new and full of possibility – is about to begin.

2013

I always find this time of year a great time to reflect and looking back over my year, I have to say that there’s not much I would change.  So many wonderful things happened, my daughter turned one and started walking and talking.  Her favourite words are ‘Shoes’ ‘Hat’ ‘Bag’ and ‘No no no no no no’ which always makes us laugh.  She’s such a happy, funny little girl who loves to sing and dance, do monkey impersonations and like most kids her age, absolutely loves ‘The Woggles’.

My hubby started work as part of the Channel 7 AFL commentary team on Saturday afternoons which meant he was away every weekend during the football season. As anyone who has a partner that works away knows, it’s not always easy but I kept busy with my little girl and we visited markets, parks, cafes and shops and made the most our weekends just the two of us.

Subi Farmers Markets

Ava and I at the Subiaco Farmers Markets

2012 was also a massive year for weddings! We had a beautiful family wedding on the Greek islands, my brother had a Winter Wonderland wedding in Melbourne and my cousin had a gorgeous wedding in the Swan Valley.  Ava was a flower girl at all three weddings!

Ava Flower Girl 3

Then there were some truly spectacular events with some truly amazing friends – including Perth Fashion Festival, the opening of Bistro Guillaume, The Terrace Hotel and lunch with the inspiring and refreshingly candid Mia Freedman.

Events Collage

Perth is renowned for it’s generosity when it comes to charities and this year we saw a record amount raised for Telethon. Many other people are raising funds for worthy causes, including Dine for Life and the Ronald McDonald Ball.  I was also incredibly honoured to become an ambassador for the Telethon Adventurers who are raising funds in the fight against childhood cancer.

Telethon Collage

What am I going to do differently in 2013?

Be More Mindful

I’m going to try my best to be more mindful and present, enjoying the moment and focusing on what I’m doing, rather than trying to be clever and doing several things at once. This fantastic post ‘11 Ways to Live More Mindfully‘ will be a great place to start.

Make Time to Just Be

Often I find that play dates, housework and running errands fill up any free time I might have. Shortly before going on holidays I had two afternoons with Ava where I ignored everything and we just played, read books and had cuddles. It was so beautiful and we both loved it.  I want more time like that with my little girl. I’ll be referring to Kelly Exeter’s Ten Tips for A Life Less Frantic.

Seize The Day

I just discovered the most beautiful blog called Grey Cavalier written by a 92 year old man called George White who recently lost his wife. His tales of new adventures and recollections of his beautiful wife Mima are a reminder that you’re never too old to try something new. If you have been wanting to change careers, travel, learn a language or do something exciting next year, carpe diem! Seize the day! Life is too short.

george

Image

Listen to Words of Wisdom

I saw this fantastic letter called A Grandfather’s Last Letter to His Kids which is jam packed full of the best advice you’ve ever been given.  I really love line two.  Be not afraid.  I think many of us are paralysed by fear of some kind. Fear of failing, of what others think, of taking risks, of the unknown. Other words of wisdom include being grateful, hugging the people you love, being kind. And my mother in laws wise words. ‘No one is better than you and you are no better than anyone else.’ Too true.

So Long 2012

Here’s to 2013 everyone, may it be brighter and more beautiful than we can ever imagine!

A xxxxx

What are you hoping for in 2013?

Do you have any resolutions or changes to make in your life?

11 thoughts on “Another Year Over… and a New One About To Begin!

  1. I love reading your Blog Amy! This has truly inspired me for 2013. By the way, we met in Claremont Quarter car park, I think one of my girls was having a meltdown! Xx

    • Hi Nicola! I remember you and your two gorgeous girls well, it was the first time anyone recognised me from my blog and I was amazed 🙂 I hope you had a beautiful Christmas and I wish you all the very best for a wonderful 2013! I hope to run into you again soon. A x x x

  2. Oh Amy ❤ What an incredibly reflective, joyful, powerful post!!! I think your wants for 2013 are perfect…there seems to be this big shift away from 'things' at the moment towards 'feelings' and being more present which I just love. This is the first year I havent made goals or resolutions (I have a list of 25 things I wanted to do before 25 that I still will be ticking off) but I instead chose words to guide me in 2013. I will review them at any point but they're .. aligned, energised, excited and spontaneous. My overarching wants are similar to yours though with being more present and 'being' in each moment vs thinking about how much more I have to do, where to go or what I havent done. I hadn't heard of the blog of the 93 year old man (Ive been on it 5 minutes only and already welled up twice) and had never seen the grandfathers letter to his kids. So THANK YOU! For sharing your own 2012 journey, your hopes for 2013 and the beautiful insights you've found from others. 2013 sounds like its going to be an amazingggg year (but your 2012 also looks like the best one yet).

    Anna xx
    from lifesshinyprettythings

    • Thanks for your beautiful comment Anna, I think we’re so lucky living here in Australia – we truly have a great life – sunshine, good food, parks, health care etc – we really should be enjoying our lives. What an incredible year you’ve had! I really get ‘letting go’…. I think we all need to let go of lots of things that hold us back – expectations, worry, what others think etc. Here’s to a beautiful 2013! A x

    • Thanks so much lovely! I’m really looking forward to 2013!! It’s going to be a very special year for you too 🙂 x x

  3. What a wonderful post Amy. I put some time aside this evening to read not only your blog but the links you posted. I have been having a difficult time as of late and reading your post and the links has been uplifting. It has given me the greatest reminder- that the best way to live life is mindfully and simple.
    I have become aware of recent just how much the expectations I place on myself have been affecting my life. As the blog “11 Ways to Live More Mindfully” says, If we fail to notice, there is nothing that can be done, we aren’t aware just how much failing to notice affects us and therefore our thoughts and actions. It’s so easy to get stuck on the merry go round that life offers sometimes.
    As for the Grandfathers last letter to his Kids, what a beautiful piece. Another reminder that being mindful, living simple and being kind are the greatest keys to a fulfilled life.
    The constant link through these insights is that loved ones and ourselves are all that is important in life.
    Thank you for sharing this with me. I wish you a 2013 filled with joy, happiness and laughter and look forward to reading your future posts.
    Caitlyn x

    • Hi Caitlyn, thanks for your lovely comment. I’m so sorry you’ve been having a hard time of late, as women we often have unrealistic expectations of ourselves – I’m guilty of it too! Let’s hope that we can all let go a bit in 2013 and enjoy life. I wish you a beautiful and very Happy New Year! x x

    • Happy New Year to you too lovely! I’ve loved Lipstick and Cake throughout 2012, especially your Friday Favourites. I’m looking forward to seeing what you have in store for 2013. A x x

  4. Happy New Year Amy! Thank you for your honest and beautifully written posts. I am going to try very hard this year to ‘just be’ and stop worrying about what is working and just enjoy what is.

    I enjoy having a cup of tea with you nearly every week ~ albeit from behind my computer screen.

    Love that Miss A already knows how to wear tulle!

    Kx

Leave a Reply

