It’s Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas at Our Place

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at our place. Although there are no chestnuts roasting on an open fire, we have our tree up, Christmas candles lit, decorations dotted throughout the house and we’ve even been listening to carols! I’ve always loved Christmas, the excitement of the festive season, exchanging gifts, baking Christmas treats and spending time with family and friends.

Xmas Table A

A few of my favourite things at Christmas time; silver stars, tea lights, glass jars filled with  Christmas baubles and twinkling angels.

IMG_1181

I spotted these gorgeous illuminated Christmas angels at Bed Bath and Table, you can also find them online at Domayne here.

JOY

I’m really drawn to the word ‘Joy’ at Christmas time and have two versions of these decorations.  I also filled a silver bowl full of Christmas baubles, such an easy way to make the house look festive and fun.

Xmas Candle

I spent a magical white Christmas in Wiltshire with friends years ago and can still remember the frosted panes at the cottage we stayed in and the smell of the open fire and clove oranges on the mantel piece. This year I decided to decorate some oranges with ribbon and cloves to create a vignette along with my Glasshouse ‘Night Before Christmas’ candle. The smell of cloves with the ‘Dancing Sugar Plum’ candle is just divine.  One of my close friends is starting a candle range and is making me a ‘Gingerbread’ candle, I can’t wait to try it!

Christmas Candy

I’ve also filled old Glasshouse candle jars and crystal bowls full of candy canes, chocolate Santas and Lindt chocolate stars and bells.  My beautiful grandparents have given me lots of their antique sugar bowls and dishes and it’s so lovely to have them on display at Christmas time. You can often find gorgeous crystal dishes and bowls like these in Op Shops for a few dollars.Christmas Tree

Our Christmas tree featuring stars, hearts, bows and red and silver glitter baubles! You can find the red wooden stars and hearts at Domayne here.

Christmas Tree 1

Xmas CD's

Christmas wouldn’t be complete without carols! One of the best Christmas albums is Mariah Carey’s ‘Merry Christmas‘, I love her version of ‘Oh Holy Night’, my all time favourite Christmas carol. We also love a bit of Frank Sinatra and Michael Buble at our place.  I’m on the lookout for a new Christmas album this year, so let me know if you have any suggestions!

Noel Bunting

Image

I have this gorgeous Christmas bunting hanging in our entrance. My photos didn’t turn out very well, so I’ve used the picture from the Shabby Sisters website where I bought it from. They also have gorgeous jewellery which would be perfect for Christmas gifts!

Joy Peace Hope

Now the Christmas carols are playing, the candles are lit and the tree is up – it’s time to start planning the menu for Christmas day. Yum yum!

Happy Christmas decorating lovelies!

A x x x

What’s your take on Christmas decorating this year?

Have you ever had a magical white Christmas?

17 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas at Our Place

  1. Looks lovely Amy! Wishing you and your beautiful family a magical Christmas and New Year 🙂 Well done on the blog this year, it’s been fantastic and i’ve really enjoyed it 🙂 Blessings xoxo

    • Hi Rani, thank you so much for your lovely wishes. I’m so happy you’ve enjoyed my blog this year, I have some exciting things planned for next year so watch this space! Wishing you and your family a wonderful Christmas and New Year. A x x

  2. I think we are twins! Those are my favourite FAVOURITE xmas albums too. I have just bought She & Him’s Christmas album too, that’s Zooey Deschanel’s album.

    Please tell your friend that if she develops a gingerbread scented candle I would love to buy one off her! Gingerbread is one of my favourite smells of Christmas.

    Your house looks so beautiful and festive. I hope you and the family have the BEST Christmas xxx

    • You and I are definitely twins!! I often read your blog posts and can’t believe how much we have in common! I will definitely let my friend know about the gingerbread candle, I’m so excited for her to launch her candle collection! Wishing you and your family a magical Christmas lovely. Thanks for your beautiful blog posts this year, your Friday Favourites kept me company when I was at home alone during the football season 🙂 A x x x

      • I know how that feels! Beau plays rugby (only club) and I spend at least two nights a week and one Saturday at home alone. I do enjoy the me time most of the time.
        And thank you for your support of my blog and your beautiful posts. I love reading your posts and checking out what you’re wearing. Can’t wait to read more in 2013.
        Steph xxx
        P.S. I love your black and white pic at the top of the page xx

  3. Also my fave Christmas albums! Apparently the new one Rod Stewart has done (collaborating with other artists on quite a few songs) is pretty good. Love the house Amy, wish I had your sense of style! I also have a lot of antique glassware etc from my beautiful Nanna, but would never have thought of using them like this. I always miss her most at Christmas, so this will be a lovely way to make it feel like she is with us….thank you! Hope you, Baz and Ava have a wonderful Christmas 🙂 xxx

    • I’ve seen Rod Stewarts Christmas album, I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for your lovely comments, I bet you miss your Nana at Christmas – would be a lovely way to remember her, with all of her antique glassware dotted around the house. You could even use them as tea lights. Wishing you and your family a beautiful Christmas. Thanks for your support this year. A x x x

  4. Loving all your beautiful Christmas decorations Amy!! Very creative, especially like the baubles in glass jars and the sweet treats on display. I also have some of those word plaques around the house- with a silver sparkly Noel one for Xmas, love it!! 🙂 xx

    • I’m going to have to check out the ‘She & Him’ Christmas album now, Steph from Lipstick and Cake has recommended it too. Wishing you and your beautiful boys a wonderful festive season in your new home town. MWAH! A x x

  5. Love it all, especially the bunting.

    I do silver and red also.
    I must be such a dumbkin it never occurred to me to keep those glasshouse candle jars. I consider this blog post a lesson learnt.

    Very keen to do that orange and clove thingo.

    • Oh thanks so much Ellie! The Glasshouse candle jars are amazing used in the bathroom for cotton buds and pads, and I also used a couple to store rocky road that I made for Christmas gifts. The orange and clove thing is so super easy and smells divine, best to use an older orange with softer skin – it’s easier to press the cloves into. A x x

Leave a Reply

